Submitted by Alicia Stott

Wabaunsee County Farm Bureau


Adults agree that child safety is an important topic; the trick is getting the kids to agree.  In an effort to reduce accidents by developing “safety-minded” youth, Wabaunsee County Farm Bureau Association has sponsored its annual Safety Poster Program. 

Each year thousands of youth in grades 1-6 participate statewide.  Posters are judged at the county Farm Bureau level with the winning poster from each of the three divisions submitted for judging at the state level.  “An effective safety poster displays one main idea,” says Grady Wenderott, President of Wabaunsee County Farm Bureau.  “We’ve seen some great posters over the years.  It’s always interesting to see what safety topics the kids choose for their posters.”   

The theme for this year’s contest was “20:20 Vision on Ag Safety!”.  Wabaunsee County Farm Bureau Safety Committee selected three winners in each division with each winner receiving a certificate and cash award of $15 for first place, $10 for second place, and $5 for third place.  The following are the 2020 Wabaunsee County Safety Poster Program winners and the schools they represent: 

Division 1 (Grades 1 & 2) – 1st: Cierra Keller, Maple Hill Elementary; 2nd: Brogan Stamm, Alma Elementary and 3rd: Aurora Adams, Alma Elementary.

Division 2 (Grades 3 & 4) – 1st: Jarett Bevitt, Mission Valley Elementary; 2nd: Isaac Garrison, Maple Hill Elementary: 3rd: Emmie Denton, Maple Hill Elementary.

Division 3 (Grades 5 & 6) – 1st: Reese Michaelis, Paxico Middle; 2nd: Mya Huske, Paxico Middle; 3rd: Tucker Murray, St. John’s Lutheran School.  

The 1st place winners in each division will compete in the state-wide contest this spring.

The Wabaunsee County Farm Bureau Safety Committee would like to congratulate the county winners and thank all those students, teachers, and schools that participated in this year’s program as there were over 130 posters submitted from Mission Valley, Alma, Maple Hill Elementary Schools, St. John’s Lutheran School and Paxico Middle School.