State Fair Print team

The Charger was named the grand Champion of the print division of the Kansas State Fair Scholastic Press Corps.

The competition, which included 37 teams from 28 schools, requires student journalists to create a 4-page newsletter or 5-minute broadcast in about eight hours. All photography, interviews, writing, editing and design took place that day at the fair. There were 21 teams in the print division.

The Wabaunsee team of AJ Grutsch, Sophia Castillo, Ava Meinhardt, Danielle Murphy and Heather Baker finished 1st, followed by teams from Wichita North, Salina South and Inman.